Hyleen Gilbanner1Singer/songwriter & guitarist, with a very warm soulful & jazzful voice 

Hyleen LiveeditIntroduce yourself and tell us where you are from?

My name is Hyleen, I’m 20 years old, I live in Paris and I sing and play guitar.

When did you realise that you wanted to be a singer?

I realized that I wanted to be a singer when I was 17 years after High School.

Was there a person or artist that inspired you to start writing songs and hit the studio? In 3 words describe your music? I know its hard to compare yourself to other artists and styles, but what kind of vibe is your music on?

I am a big fan of Stevie Wonder, I love his amazing voice, his lyrics, his groove and sound. When I listen to him I travel. My music in 3 words : simplicity, positivity and groove. If I have to compare
myself to other artists and styles I speak of Erykah Badu, Jill Scott, D’angelo, Prince . My style is Soul, Funk, Jazz and Hip Hop.

Moody’s Mood for Love – HYLEEN GIL (Live Radio Show)

What do you enjoy the most about the whole process of recording and writing music? Is there something that you absolutely love and is there anything that maybe you don’t like doing as much?

I like to be alone and free-spirited to writing music, I like to search melodies and chords and I like too work with my friends to search new Idea. Recording is a really interesting moment because you have
to fix an idea and you can take a step back. Like everyone else I like to compose but sometimes it’s hard to find inspiration.

Hyleen Gil & GottaeditWhat have been the highlights of your career so far?

The highlights of my career will be my concerts in New York

Let’s talk about your latest project, its sounding really tight. who dealt with the production and how? long did it take to make?

We released an EP called “Welcome ” to welcome people in our universes. There are 3 tracks on this EP, 2 compositions and one cover of a mix between Barry White and the song “You’re the first, the last, my everything ” and Lenny Krawitz and ” Till It’s Over “. It took us 2 months to record the various instruments, for the mix and the mastering. We worked with David Finger Haynes for the drum and Q million for the mix.

My latest project was the cover of “Deja Vu” of Beyonce, it was really interesting and funny to re-look this song. I have worked with my pianist and producer who has lot of Ideas, and it was a real
duo. I think this cover show our universe. We have worked on a simple production just with Maschine, piano and voice… It took us an afternoon to recording the voice and make the video clip.

Deja Vu Re-Play Hyleen & Gotta Beyonce Cover

How are you getting your project out there? Do you have a distributor involved or maybe some shops/websites stocking & supporting your music?

The EP is Release on Gotta Records and is only available on Bandcamp website. We have a few cd copies, but we use it mainly for promotion .We are already got some licencing deal propositions for the upcoming Album.  Me & My label havent made any decisions for the moment . We are concentrating on the music only at this moment, we will see in time.

bwWhat feedback from the media have you had?

We have a great review from Soulbounce ! That means a lot for us. We are on two french radio, one American Radio called New Soul Sunday with Nick Austin,Just A Smile “one of the three tracks of the EP is on the best of 2012 selection. For the new year we have recorded an interview on a french Radio, it was a special week with Hyleen Gil.

Do you enjoy playing live? Have you done many gigs and what kind of artists have you supported or played alongside?

I love playing live ! I’ve done few gigs with my project so it’s new for me but I look foward to play more !

Just a Smile – Hyleen Gil (Live Radio Show)

Lets talk image and branding for a minute. Some artists spend lots of money on artwork and other acts arent that interested. How important is image, artwork and branding to you?

I think the scene is not like everyday life so I have to get dressed differently. Be musician is like a dream for me so I have to fire people imagination too. So Yes it’s important for me . We work hard & seriously on each pictures & artwork we use. We wants people see something beautiful & true .

Hyleen1What was the last album you brought and apart from Soul/r&b what other genres of music do you listen too?

The last album I’ve bought is  “Black Radio”  by Robert Glasper it was an amazing discovery : the sound, the groove, the melody, the harmony. And now I’m waiting for the José James‘s album.I listen lot of genres of music, I listen Foofighter, Sting, Coldplay, brasilian music etc.

Have you got any videos on You Tube and have any ever got played on TV Stations?

I have played on TV stations : an interview of me and Gotta about a new concept in France, play music on a hairdressing salon. I have videos on Youtube of my new song “Just A Smile “, we have some videos of live in Paris or south of France and we have a new video, it’s a cover of  “Deja Vu”  by Beyonce a duo with Gotta.

Where can we find you on the Internet?

You can find me on Facebook, Tweeter, Bandcamp and Youtube !

What plans have you got for the future?

I will play in Paris for 2 gigs, then to the US for gigs in NY and Brooklyn and I’ll be on the NAMN show this year, and my main plan is to work hard on the Album.

linksvideo

Welcome -Hyleen Gil - FrontClick EP Cover 2 Buy

Hyleen Gil // Teaser // Work Session

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/hyleengil
Twitter : https://twitter.com/HyleenGil

S/O
Philippe Arcostanzo aka Gotta
http://www.about.me/gotta

