Deslyn Leyland was born in Portland, Jamaica, the last of 14 children to Mr. & Mrs.Wray.  As a child I felt like a little Princess doll, because I would always dress up in my older sister’s fine clothes and that made me feel like a super star.

At the age of 8 I went to boarding school and it was there that I had my first taste and experience with singing.

My head teacher Mr. Lindsey gave me singing lessons and placed me in a concert where I would perform for the local village.

I sang “Que Sera, Sera ” and it was this musical performance that lead to a passion and desire to become a performing artist.

Deslyn Leyland Background

As I matured in to a young lady, I attended Boston College in Kingston Jamaica for 3 years and qualified as a stenographer. I was also employed to work at that same college for 18 months.

Time went by quickly and pretty soon I would be leaving my home land to go and live in England. Now 19yrs old and residing in a place called Dudley, I decided to go back to school and study nursing.

After qualifying as a nurse, I got married in 1957 at the age of 21 and eventually was blessed to bare 4 children. My life during this time was very hard and stressful. The strain of marriage had taken its toll on me, and eventually I got divorced.

Deslyn Leyland – ‘Hi There’

I committed over 35 yrs to a career in nursing, but all along my passion was to sing and perform. After retiring from nursing I taught in a town called Alderley Edge for 5 yrs as a certified counselor.

In my spare time I played a key role as a singer in my local church choir and performed in theatre productions based within my local town of Congleton.

One of my greatest achievements was performing in a New York play called “Singing in the Rain” and “Macordo”.

Deslyn Leyland The Song

The time has now come for God to do a mighty work in me and so I’m stepping out to pursue my passion and desires. Led by a vision to now also write, I wrote a song which also contains Spanish dialect that goes as follows

First Single

In May of this year I attended a church convention and I was prophesied over by a minister who stated that “I would be blessed with something special in my life”.

After this blessing was spoken over me, it led me to write a second song The Wind of Change. I have now had the opportunity to perform these songs at a live a venue Abbey Hulton.

Thank you Godfrey Fletcher (Neo2soul) and Jay Gardiner for giving me the chance and believing in me. This is the start of great things to come.

LINKS

http://twitter.com/#!/Deslynleyland
http://www.youtube.com/user/deslynleyland

