bannerMarcia Mitchell is a singer/songwriter

MARCIA 4Introduce yourself and tell us where you are from? 

My name is Marcia Mitchell and I am from Miami, Florida.

When did you start making music and realize that you wanted to be a singer?

Quite frankly, I was in my very early teens and KNEW that I NEEDED to sing as this was a God given talent of which no one should ever try to conceal. I knew this talent had to become a “business” as its rewards are greater in that form.

How would you describe the music that you make?

“FREE FORM”

I know it’s hard to compare yourself to other artists and styles, but what kind of vibe is your music on?

We are about exploiting MUSICAL FREEDOM and just doing the exact opposite of what the Industry considers “acceptable;” however, the music remains relatable to the acknowledged general public.

Marcia Mitchell – Bad Girls

MARCIA 2What do you enjoy the most about the whole process of recording and writing music? Is there something that you absolutely love and is there anything that maybe you don’t like doing as much?

I LOVE making mistakes (vocally) because it makes everyone laugh! Yes, I am an accomplished vocalist so this is unacceptable, gets erased, and has to be sang again.

Most people cannot even imagine this, but yes, accomplished vocalists make mistakes too e.g. hitting bad notes or will have a tendency to sing flat and can sound as bad as the next guy.

Trust me. There is nothing I don’t like when it comes to recording and writing music.

What have been the highlights of your career so far?

Landing the #1 spot on the UK SOUL CHART as of August 11th, 2013.

How are you getting your project out there? Do you have a distributor involved or maybe some shops/websites stocking & supporting your music?

We are using Tunecore and our personal sites. We’d love to have a larger distributor or one that offers other options of product presentation but for now it’s Tunecore.

What feedback from the media have you had?

I am surprised to learn that they’ve labeled my debut release FOR LOVE “a breath of fresh air!”

MARCIA 3Let’s talk about your latest project, its sounding really tight. Who dealt with the production and how long did it take to make?

My latest project is a Double A-Sided Single titled FOR LOVE; however, the two tracks listed are “Wish You Were My Man” and “Déjà vu.”

This project was spearheaded by my Production Team which consists of Mikael Manley (formerly of the Commodores), Clifford Dale, and Marcus France and also, my Band Members from the Marcia Mitchell Band aka “MMB.”

It took us no time to complete because we are always prepared. The songs were already ready and I personally wrote “Wish You Were My Man” so the guys just produced it and voila!

Do you think that radio is still important now in the digital age?

Yes, in the sense that some of the older generation will never fully embrace new technology and should still be exposed to new music just as the rest of the population; however, there needs to be music available to capture this audience and some Artists are doing just that.

Do you think the internet helps or hinders independent artists?

Helps and hinders. I’ll take both!

Marcia Mitchell – Deja Vu

Let’s talk image and branding for a minute. Some artists spend lots of money on artwork and other acts aren’t that interested. How important is image, artwork and branding to you?

It’s the highlight of my life as marketing and desktop publishing is my background but I own a few businesses as well. Branding is your image and first impression before anyone is aware of your products and services. If the consumer doesn’t like the wrapper, they may not move forward to see what’s inside. It’s human nature.

1170933_347251232074137_1393547704_nDo you enjoy playing live?

Heck yeah! This is ALL I do! Lol!

Have you done many gigs and what kind of artists have you supported or played alongside?

Oh boy! I have performed 1000s of gigs.

I am not at the liberty of naming the Celebrity Artists that we have been on stage with and have performed with and FOR (for that matter) as Celebrities hire my Band to perform for their Weddings and Private Events.

However, I have opened up for people like Natalie Cole, Vanessa Williams, Diana Ross, Mary J. Blige, Lou Gramm of the super-group Foreigner, and countless others.

What was the last album you brought and apart from Soul/R&B what other genres of music do you listen to?

Hmmm. I just purchased DON-E’s music (SMILE) and I listen to everything. I am not biased or partial toward the different genres of music.

Have you got any videos on You Tube and have any ever got played on TV Stations? Yes, YouTube and Vimeo. Not sure if they have hit any Television Stations yet; however, I did get a message the other day from a West Palm Beach, Florida, TV Station so we will see what happens.

Marcia Mitchell – Ain’t Nobody

What plans have you got for the future?

This, I won’t answer. We are ‘JUST DO IT’ kind of people. You’ll look up and I’ll be there. LOL!

Would like to send any shout outs to anybody?

EVERYONE! EVERYONE INVOLVED, EVERYONE SUPPORTING, AND EVERYONE READING THIS INTERVIEW. LOVE YOU ALL.

Where can we find you on the Internet?

Seriously? If you key in my name, the streams will go on for several days. All jokes aside,

MUSIC/INTERVIEWS/LINKS

555531_346870352112225_1305073057_n

CLICK PHOTO TO BUY
Marcia Mitchell
Music

MARCIA “FOR LOVE”

1146863_10151638104238772_1086706186_oNO.1 UK Soul Chart Top 30
http://www.starpointradio.com/

mhMARCIA’S FIRST UK INTERVIEW WITH MIKE HOWARD
Heart & Soul Radio aired on 5/26/13
(click photo to listen)
jlMARCIA’S INTERVIEW WITH JOHN LEECH OF BBC RADIO
(click photo to listen)

522742_4811463451940_1347380933_nMARCIA’S interview with KEITH “Deejay” SLY of WE ARE BANG RADIO!
(click photo to listen)

922659_306028049529789_181720085_ohttp://www.marciamitchellmusic.com
http://www.marciamitchelltheartist.com
http://www.twitter.com/marciatheartist
http://www.twitter.com/highenergybands
http://www.facebook.com/marciamitchellmusicinc
http://www.facebook.com/marciamitchelltheartist
http://www.instagram.com/marciamitchelltheartist
http://www.reverbnation.com/marciamitchelltheartist

