bannerChoklate is an international singer/songwriter

Choklate (Mojo)Introduce yourself and tell us where you are from?

My name is Choklate, based in Seattle, WA

So how did you get your name Choklate ? What’s the story behind it if any ?

I hadn’t started doing music just yet and happened to be in the studio w/ my big brother and some artists that he was working w/ and one of the cats in the room referred to me as “Chocolate Angel” in his rap verse.

Im actually quite the tomboy so this wasn’t exactly dope to me and upon learning that, I was teased quite a bit but I got them to drop the angel part, however, the Chocolate part stuck. My real name starts w/ a K so that’s where the K comes in.

Choklate Grown Folks

When did you start making music and was there a person or artist that inspired you to start writing songs and hit the studio?

I want to say somewhere around 2006 or so is when music really got serious for me. Before then, it was a fun hobby that I did on the side of my jobs and school etc.My big brother Mike D and nephew Kuddie Fresh (@Fresh4orLife) are the reason I got into music. Vitamin D (@Tallhomeyvita) is my favorite producer and probably the one that helped me to really find my own voice, musical lineage and such.

1488993_10153606978910192_1536785974_nHow would you describe the music that you make? I know it’s hard to compare yourself to other artists and styles, but what kind of vibe is your music on?

Thats a nearly impossible question for me to answer. I just create from an honest space. Try to listen to what, it feels like, the music is telling me to do, if that makes any sense.

Who have you worked with?

Eric Roberson, Musiq Soulchild, Chali 2na & Phonte to name a few…

What do you consider your biggest achtcivement so far?

My biggest achievement thus far? I’d say is probably the work I get to do w/ at risk youth and those in need.

When my gal pals and I randomly get together and make sack lunches for the homeless or some sort of project to benefit teens intransition and such.

I think the philanthropic work that I’ve gotten to do is what really brings me a sense of purpose in all of this. I come from a tough upbringing and neighborhood and getting to talk to young girls who are existing within some of the truths that Ive survived is one of the things that Im genuinely really proud of and grateful to get to do from time to time. Its really fulfilling.

Win by Choklate ft. Phonte


JirardPhotog2What projects are you working on at the moment?

Doing a lot of beat making lately. Workin on singing to my own production which will be fun to share, at some point, soon.

When it comes to making music what would you credit as your main motivation?

Pure insanity? lol

What do you enjoy the most about the whole process of recording and writing music? Is there something that you absolutely love and is there anything that maybe you don’t like doing as much?

The business of music is a tricky thing, not my favorite (thank God for the professionals and sometimes elusive but I really do enjoy writing, recording and performing.

Wide Open by Choklate Produced by Vitamin D

Let’s talk image and branding for a minute. Some artists spend lots of money on artwork and other acts aren’t that interested. How important is image, artwork and branding to you?

The music is most important. When it boils down to it people aren’t rolling down the street staring at your picture, they’re listening to your voice, hopefully anyway. I think all of it is important and it depends on the artist how much attention they give to any one or the other. For me, it’s a matter of balance. I like to take pictures. It’s fun but I’d rather be in the studio or onstage w/ 12 pieces of well rehearsed machinery and talented folks. Easy.

DigibeesFace2Do you enjoy playing live? Have you done many gigs and what kind of artists have you supported or played alongside?

I love doing live shows. They’re my favorite. I’ve shared stages w/ Eryka Badu, Bilal, BoysIIMen, Nikka Costa, Roy Ayers, Eric Roberson, Anthony David, Raheem DeVaughn and a few others…

So what does the future hold for you as an artist? Have you got any big plans that you can tell us about before you go?

Hopefully I’ll get to make a crap ton more music and none of the plans unfolding are ones that I’m at liberty to share which SUCKS for me but is probably best at the moment but I look forward to the next phase! It’s going to be a really fun journey.

What is your website and social networking links?

I’m @Choklate on: Twitter, FaceBook, Instagram, Pintrest, Tumblr, Vine & Pheed etc etc etc

Carbon Copy by Choklate produced by Kuddie Fresh

choklate_fly

CLICK PHOTO TO BUY ChoklateFly” LP plus more

86532400http://www.choklateonline.com/
http://www.twitter.com/Choklate
http://www.instagram.com/choklate#
http://www.facebook.com/pages/CHOKLATE/140431172675

Thanks for info
Dawn Adolph
CEO
TAG / Digital Marketing Professionals

