el bannerElisha La’Verne an Soul/R&B singer/songwriter

IMG_0300Introduce yourself and tell us where you are from? Hi, My names is Elisha La’Verne a Soul/R&B vocalist/writer from South London.

When did you start making music and realize that you wanted to be a singer? I realized I wanted to be a singer at the age of 13 when rehearsing with my school band. At the time I was involved as a rapper and had a song where I wanted to sing the hook. I realised although I love rap music I preferred to sing and continued in the band as a singer.

When I left school I was blessed to meet up with some talented producers where I really honed my vocal and writing skills. They all had individual production and recording styles which was great because this challenged me to work in different ways. This is the reason I would say that I am so adaptable and flexible when working now.

Was there a person or artist that inspired you to start writing songs and hit the studio? I was inspired by the soulful tones of Aretha and Luther as a young girl. At present I am inspired by so many artiste young and old.

How would you describe the music that you make? I know it’s hard to compare yourself to other artists and styles, but what kind of vibe is your music on? I’d say soulful vibes. I lean onto the 2-step or slow jams but still love to write to and sing along to tracks with a hard hip hop edge and thick bass. But whatever I sing on I keep it soulful.

What do you enjoy the most about the whole process of recording and writing music? Is there something that you absolutely love and is there anything that maybe you don’t like doing as much? It’s a great feeling to work on and see your ideas come to life. I love the moment when I come up with a banging hook then the process after of laying the harmonies and feeling the hook flourish into pretty colours.

Words From Elisha LaVerne on her forthcoming LP

Do you enjoy playing live? Have you done many gigs and what kind of artists have you supported or played alongside? I absolutely love performing live! That instant gratification is like no other. The vibe of hearing a hot band play my recorded material is amazing. Although a band will definitely play your songs like the record the dynamics they bring is completely different.

Which ingredient do you think makes you special and unique as a performing artist? An artiste that loves the art of performing, someone who loves their music, someone who can add that extra something to their performance that does not come across on record. I have heard a particular artiste on record and did not really think much of the song but when I heard her sing it live I was blown away and was hooked on the song.

IMG_0307What do you consider your biggest achievement? Musically I’d say to still be in the business and through all its faults still have a love for the game.

What projects have you released so far and what feedback from the media have you had? My last project was the release of my album 361 Degrees. Since the release I have been promoting the album in Japan where it was greatly received by my fans and media. I have been in the studio creating my new album for quite a few years after the release of 361 Degrees and have recorded a considerable amount of songs for my forthcoming album. All involved are very pleased and looking forward to its release.

Let’s talk about your forthcoming project, Who will be dealing with the production and will you have any features? I have had input as I do, input in regards to giving producers an idea of what I am looking for. I want this album to have a particular sound. Also producers have sent backing tracks to me which they believe would suit my style and I’ve loved them. I have a few features but I cannot disclose right now as although I have recorded a numerous amount of songs, I am still not sure what to place on the album. There are so many songs, it will be a hard task.

Do you think that radio is still important now in the digital age? Most definitely yes! So much people still listen to the radio for various reasons.

Do you think the internet helps or hinders independent artists? I would say helps. If I go to an event and see an amazing artiste perform I can go home afterwards and easily access information on the artist and in turn purchase their material. That is if the artist has utilised social media well.

If you were forced to choose only one, which emotion, more than any other drives you to stay in this tough business. Is it joy, anger, desire, passion or pride and why? Joy – I would say Love of the art. It is a tough fickle business but despite its flaws I still love performing, creating and collaborating with other artists.

Elisha LaVerne We Got This Fade Edit

What do you think is the biggest barrier you have to face and overcome as an indie artist and performer, in your quest to achieve your goals and wider spread success? I wouldn’t say it is a barrier because barriers can be broken. But exposure is key in this business. You can release great material but if you don’t have great exposure, the masses will not hear it.

What is the ONE thing you are NOT willing or prepared to do EVER, in your quest to achieve a successful musical career? Immigrate to another country. I am not prepared to do that at the moment and don’t feel I have to really with our new age social media. I can visit a country and work there for a few months with the comfort in knowing I will return home.

What plans have you got for the future? At present I am at the last stages of my new album and cannot wait to show my fans and the world what great work we have achieved. We are planning the next tour of Japan and will not be leaving out Europe on this venture.

IMG_0308http://www.elishalaverne.com
http://www.twitter.com/elishalaverne
http://www.soundcloud.com/elisha-laverne
http://www.youtube.com/user/ElishaLaverneMusic/videos
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Elisha-LaVerne-Page/164749943560286

* contact@elishalaverne.com
* christoss@hotmail.com Management

Big Thanks to Christopher George for into
Neo2soul sends many big blessing to Elisha La’Verne for the interview

