tj banderTiffanyJ is a rnb/soul singer/songwriter

IMG_7365Introduce yourself and tell us where you are from?

I am TiffanyJ, an inspirational soul artist from Columbia, SC, and I’m a singer, songwriter, and arranger. I’m very laid back, but I’m very expressive when it comes to my style and art.

Was there a person or artist that inspired you to start writing songs and hit the studio?

I have been writing songs since I was 14 years as I sang in the gospel group Eternal Voices, and I began my songwriting “career”. I’ve always been a singer, but it wasn’t until that group was formed that the thought of making original music and recording came to be a part of my life.

How would you describe the music that you make?

A soulful approach to melodic art.

TiffanyJ – “Ex-Factor” by Lauryn Hill at Soul Sessions

Do you enjoy playing live?

I absolutely love performing live. I like to think that I bring comedic relief to my shows and my personality is engaging before I open my mouth to hit a note. I prefer shows having my band with me, but “I’ll go if I have to go by myself” lol.

Which ingredient do you think makes you special and unique as a performing artist?

I definitely know that my commitment to my standard and self-love makes me special as an artist and people are heavily influenced and inspired by my confidence and soul.

What do you consider your biggest achievement?

My biggest achievement as a solo artist thus far was being chosen to give tribute my mentor and a major influential artist in my life Ms. Angie Stone at a ceremony honoring her career. I was asked to perform her hit “Brotha” as she sat and watched along with hundreds of others. Here’s the video: http://www.facebook.com/iamTiffanyJ/videos/794588710674826/

FB_IMG_1463522125469When it comes to making music, what would you credit as your main motivation?

My main motivation is inspiring people. At the end of the day, I want people to say “TiffanyJ inspires me to be me.” I encourage people to do as I do every day; I look myself in the mirror and say to myself, “Nobody can do me better than me.

Your album is called EVOLving, Why did you name it this? Is it a soundtrack to your life or just part of your life or neither?

EVOLving…. I actually titled my album about 3 years ago before any of the music was written for it. I had just written my very first solo single “Flying Solo”, a song about leaving your comfort zone in order to grow, and I knew then that I always wanted to experience growth.

So, as I began the album process, the title still made sense because I had experienced many things as I was developing into the woman I was meant to be, and all of this development had to do with LOVE, hence the capitalized EVOL in EVOLving (love backwards).

TiffanyJ – How You Make Me Feel

Let’s talk more about your project, Who dealt with the production?

I teamed up with producer Bruce Robinson, Jr. of ZamarMuzik for the entire album. He’s worked with Fantasia, Justin Bieber, Myron Butler, and more. Rod King of Regal Aftermath  rendered his production skill on a track titled “End of Time” that features R&B crooner Marcus Allen.

If you were forced to choose only one, which emotion, more than any other drives you to stay in this tough business. Is it joy, anger, desire, passion or pride and why?

Definitely PASSION. It is now becoming a “job” because I am generating income, but it definitely does not feel like work. So, my passion for music, especially music that feeds
the soul.

What do you think is the biggest barrier you have to face and overcome as an indie artist and performer, in your quest to achieve your goals and wider spread success?

My biggest barrier sometimes is money. Everything costs, and it costs ME. Not having a huge budget effects what I can do with my career.

TiffanyJ – Evolving (The Prelude)

What is the ONE thing you are NOT willing or prepared to do EVER, in your quest to achieve a successful musical career?

I am not willing to compromise my values. I am a Christian, so I tend not to even cover songs that make me question my faith. I have grown to love me as a whole, so I know what I look good in, but I’d never put myself in a position to be completely revealing and I don’t use profanity.

What plans have you got for the future?

I am working on building my catalog of songs, so I hope to soon get a publishing deal writing for other artists and getting record and radio placements. I’d love to share the stage/song with Jazmine Sullivan, Jill Scott, and Musiq Soulchild. There’s no limit on what I want to do.

13332852_809964709137226_7287417020649709484_n

Click Photo 2 Buy LP EVOLving by TiffanyJ

11091034_626723764127989_7609941681404153615_ohttp://www.iamtiffanyj.com/
http://www.twitter.com/iamTiffanyJ/
http://www.facebook.com/iamTiffanyJ/
http://www.instagram.com/iamtiffany_j/
http://www.soundcloud.com/iamtiffanyj
http://www.youtube.com/user/iamtiffanyj

